Dean’s Excellence Award

The Dean’s Excellence Award is presented annually to one (1) AUPE staff member or one (1) Management and Professional Staff member who has demonstrated overall excellence in his or her position.  The nomination will be adjudicated using the criteria below.

A nominee should be an individual who:

  • has high standards of professionalism and consistently goes beyond the requirements of his/her position;
  • promotes a positive work environment, characterized by respect, support, trust and collegiality;
  • serves as a role model for other staff members;
  • provides the highest level of service to the School community;
  • promotes collaboration and a sense of collegiality across the School and University; and,
  • demonstrates creativity or innovation in improving work processes.


Current University of Calgary Werklund School of Education AUPE or MaPS staff members (including all continuing, fixed or limited term staff) are eligible for this award.  

Rules and Guidelines

  1. Nominations for this award can be made by students, alumni, academic or support staff members, or members of the community
  2. The nominee must display excellence within the Werklund School of Education
  3. The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete nomination package (maximum 10 pages) to the Chair of the Awards Committee by June 15, 2021
  4. Recipients of this award will receive funding to be used towards a professional learning activity. All funding must be spent within 18 months of the nomination deadline.

Nomination Package

The nomination package consists of three parts:

  • Part 1: WSE Support Staff Award Application form
  • Part 2: Nominator letter of support
  • Part 3: A minimum of two signed letters of support (one of which must be from the nominee’s supervisor)

Selection Process

All nominations are reviewed by the Dean and evaluated based on the evidence provided in the application and a rating on the overall quality of the submission. 


The Dean’s Excellence Award recipient will be announced and honoured at an appropriate venue.  The award recipient will receive $2,000 to be used towards a professional learning opportunity of their choice and a letter from the Werklund School of Education acknowledging the honour. 


Completed nomination packages should be submitted as one PDF file and sent to:

Stacy Gooliaff, Chair
Werklund School of Education Awards Selection Committee