Celebrating Student Success and Community Support



Each year, the Werklund School of Education recognizes its best and brightest students with a range of awards.

In many cases, the awards include financial support to the students, and while it is very much appreciated, those selected for these medals, scholarships and bursaries tell us the recognition of their work, their community service, and their commitment to education are just as personally significant and important to them.

As you'll read on the following pages, many of our undergraduate and graduate students have benefitted from the community support each has received.

We sincerely thank the individuals and organizations who have made such a difference in the lives of these worthy scholars.

Dennis Sumara

Dean, Werklund School of Education











Every year, undergraduate students at the University of Calgary are eligible for a range of awards, bursaries and scholarships. Some of the awards are exclusively available to Werklund School of Education students, while others are open to students campus-wide.

On the following pages, we've highlighted some of the awards, made possible by individual donors and community groups.

Alberta Retired	Teachers'
Association Award	

Megan Elizabeth Enns

Allan and Dorothy Durie Memorial Bursary

Tiana Danielle Christiansen

Annette and Ray LaGrange Education Scholarship

Connie Kazmaier

Calgary Chamber of Commerce Centennial Scholarship

Matthew Joseph Schaeffer

Calgary Retired Teachers' Association Scholarship Kessa Nicole Den Hoed

Canadian Federation of University Women/Calgary M. Jean Hicks deBruyn Scholarship in Education Kathryn Mary Weiss

Clarence Sansom Gold Medal in Education

Jeffrey David Buhler

Clayton and Linda Woitas Education Scholarship

Luvdeep Singh Bhandari

Darryl and Peggy Proudfoot Bursaries in Education

Carson Ashton Reveen Samantha Mai Dyer

Denise M. Gerwing Memorial Bursary in EducationNgenyi Sally Mbunya

Dr. Andrew L. Doucette Award

Michael Mark Auer

Dr. Merron Chorny Scholarship

Carly Melissa Morton

Educational Progress Club Bursary

Mahera Sadek

Elizabeth and James McKenzie Andrews Bursaries

Alena Thelma Black
Barbara Louise Bessem
Ingrid Ellen-Marie Spelay
Leanne Elizabeth Page
Parveet Kaur Hundal
Ranjene Mazumdar
Tobi Min Chung Kim
Tyler David Kinch

Jane S. Jamison Bursary in Education

Vikrum Rao

John Ernest Cheal Scholarship

Catherine Francoise Clegg

Jordie and Robert Jordan Bursaries

Erica Mika Lynn Kunimoto Maria del Carmen Dominguez Maryam Gowralli Yvonne Kunerth

Joyce Frank Bursary

Joelle Tiana Bode

Kaley Jane Smith Bursary Julie Tran

Kristin Bala-Kosak Memorial Bursary

Anne Taylor Reczka

Lyle and Erna (Anne) Bolstad Memorial Bursary in Education

Brandy Marie Breakey

Margaret J. Hislop Award in Early Childhood Education

Maia Loren Fuhrman

Margaret Saunders Bursary in Education

Caitlynn Marie Donovan

Mary Esther Lily Avis Bursaries

Benjamin John MacKay Danielle Leeann Renner George Catalin Serban Kiel Eric Fredrickson Lindsay Anne Phillips Lindsay Anne Zurek Sabrina Ashley Niesman Sooji Hong Taryn Belize Knorren

Mary Esther Lily Avis Scholarships

Tessa Moncrief

Ayden Robert Willis
Gillian Jutta McCarron
Heidi Marie Exner
Ingrid Ellen-Marie Spelay
Megan Elizabeth Enns
Nicole Kathleen Jackson
Ranjene Mazumdar
Sulyn Kareena Bodnaresko
Suzanne Rae Maudie
Wanda Jolane Vernon

Mary Shkuratoff Bursary

Miranda Isabelle Ruhland

Moaz Sabbah Memorial Scholarship

Seth Jordan Kay

Norma Carroll Teaching Bursary

Alycia Pirmohamed

Norma Carroll Teaching Scholarship

Victoria Jade Parent

Norreen Baker Education Scholarship Kaisa Linnea Hansen

Trajou Emmod Transor

Peter H. Spear Memorial Scholarship Marcy Rene Lannan R. Joan Unruh Memorial Bursaries

Carson Ashton Reveen Jamie Stewart Lindsay Jessica Jeanette Smith Poonamdeep Kaur Raeewal

R.K. Greggs Memorial Bursary

David Ferguson

Reverend Doctor Chief John Snow Memorial Award Cindy Rae Big Snake

Rosemary Brodrick Memorial Bursary Dina Kim Lee Teacher Education
Centennial Scholarships

Amanda Florence Baird Connie Kazmaier Juleta Eileen Severson-Baker Lindy Meghan Robinson

Val Nicholson (Erb) Bursary

Chantelle Elizabeth Bergeron

Victoria Mary MacTavish Memorial Education Bursaries

Alexandra Kristen Amundson Erin Kirsten McCullough Kajsa Linnea Hansen

Werklund Community-Engaged Leadership Scholarships

Christine Taylor Genevieve Marie Dale Hana Kadri Heather Marie Stark Meghan Kaye Kuppe Rebecca Anne Viner











Graduate students in the Werklund School of Education have a solid reputation for excellence in scholarly activity. Each year, in highly-competitive application processes, students vie for a range of scholarships, fellowships and awards, spanning the disciplines for which the Werklund School has developed recognized expertise.

The following is a list of the best and brightest students chosen in the 2016-17 year to benefit from named awards exclusive to Werklund School graduate students.

Anita K.F. Li Graduate Scholarship

April J. Dyrda

Annette LaGrange Graduate Scholarship

Jennifer A. Plosz

Bernice Gibb

Memorial Graduate Scholarship in Language and Literacy Education

Michelle L. Bence Mathezer

Christiane Adele Roy Scholarship

Jennifer C. MacDonald

Denise H.S. Owen Scholarship

Bailey K. Wheeler

Dr. Bonnie L. Shapiro Distinguished Faculty Achievement Graduate

Galicia S. Blackman

Scholarship

Ethel King-Shaw Doctoral Scholarship in Literacy

Theodora Kapoyannis

Helen McWilliam Memorial Scholarship

Christina M. Gray

Hopewell Graduate Scholarship in Language and Literacy

Britney Paris

Joe Woodsworth Memorial Scholarship

Kailyn M. Jones

Linda Barry-Hollowell Graduate Scholarship

Michelle E. McCowan

Richard Hirabayashi Award

Rae Ann S. Van Beers

Roderick William Peden Memorial Graduate Scholarship in Education

Kurtis G. Leinweber

Sharon Aikenhead Waugh Memorial Scholarship

Michelle L. Bence Mathezer

Ves Thomas Memorial Scholarship

Ayman E.M. Aljarrah

W.R. Unruh Scholarship

Andrea M. Stelnicki Theresa M. Jubenville

Werklund Doctoral Fellowship

Sanda L. Becker Sarah Nutter

Werklund School of Education Endowment Graduate Scholarship

Jodi M. Latremouille

It starts with you.

Every award or bursary makes a difference in the life of a student who has the potential to change the world.

The support from you, our generous donors, is sparking meaningful change for our students, on our campus, in our community and beyond.

Thank you for sharing our vision of inspiring the best in others.