

Celebrating Student Excellence

WERKLUND SCHOOL OF EDUCATION

As Dean of the Werklund School of Education, I am proud to congratulate our undergraduate and graduate award recipients of the 2017-2018 academic year.

Each year, outstanding students receive medals, scholarships and bursaries both internal to the Werklund School and from the university, provincial and federal governments, and private donors, both individuals and organizations. These students are selected for their academic ability, their innovation and creativity, and their contributions to community. In addition to the financial support, recipients of these awards appreciate being recognized for their hard work, dedication and commitment.

Many of the awards are made possible through generous gifts from individuals, foundations and agencies in our community. On behalf of all of us in the Werklund School of Education, I would like to thank all of our donors for their generosity and for their commitment to the vision and goals of the University of Calgary and the Werklund School of Education. With these additional forms of support, we are better able to achieve our *Eves High* vision.

In today's complex world, we know that to be successful in their careers and in their communities, our graduates must demonstrate abilities to apply what they have learned within every-changing contexts. For us, success means our students contribute to finding solutions to challenges in their communities and to become thoughtful members of society.



On the following pages, you will find the names of this year's award recipients. Please join me in congratulating them for their outstanding achievements as graduates of the University of Calgary's Werklund School of Education.

Dennis Sumara, PhD Professor and Dean, Werklund School of Education

66 I felt good to be recognized for my passion and hard work in literacy. The scholarship for me was a motivation to continue working in the area of literacy for young children. I am inspired to keep giving back to my community. 99

Being awarded an Eyes High Doctoral Recruitment Award is an enormous honour. It serves as a recognition of my efforts to date and provides me with the necessary support to dedicate myself wholeheartedly to my research and academics.

Jessica Baraskewich

DOCTORAL RECRUITMENT SCHOLARSHIP

Glory Ovie

SHARON AIKENHEAD WAUGH MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

EYES HIGH

Graduate students in the Werklund School of Education have a solid reputation for excellence in scholarly activity. Each year, in highly-competitive application processes, students vie for a range of scholarships, fellowships and awards, spanning the disciplines for which the Werklund School has developed recognized expertise.

The following is a select list of the best and brightest students chosen in the 2017-18 year to benefit from named awards exclusive to Werklund School graduate students.

Anita K. F. Li Graduate Scholarship Cristina Fernández Conde

Annette LeGrange Graduate Scholarship Sandra Becker

Bernice Gibb Memorial Graduate Scholarship in Language and Literacy Education Erica Amerv

Canada Graduate Scholarships (Master's) Alvsha Chan Kent Alexander Chov Catherine Cooper-Smith Kendra Epping Jay Johnson Rebecca Perrv Michelle Redekop Marisa Van Bavel

Canadian Queen Elizabeth II **Diamond Jubilee** Graduate Internship in Education Venise Brvan Ashlev Hull

Christiane Adele Rov Scholarship Jennifer MacDonald

Denise H.S. Owen Scholarship Sofia Lopez-Bilboa

Donna B Rediger Graduate Scholarship in Education Judy Dang

Dr. Bonnie I. Shapiro **Distinguished Faculty Achievement** Graduate Scholarship Jodi Latremouille

Dr. Michael C. Pyryt Memorial Graduate Scholarship Miriam Ramzv

Gifted Students Graduate Scholarship Miriam Ramzy

OUR CELEBRATING E. Lisa Panavotidis Memorial Graduate Scholarship in Interdisciplinary **Educational Research** Jinazhou Liu

Ethel King-Shaw **Doctoral Scholarship** in Literacv Miriam Ramzv

Evelina Orteza y Miranda Graduate Scholarship in Education Laura Blaikie

Eves High Doctoral Recruitment Scholarship Sonia Auila-Bhullar Jessica Baraskewich Gina Ko Marilú Lam Michelle Tkachuk Lake Yeworiew

Helen McWilliam Memorial Scholarship Avelet Arv

Indigenous Graduate Award Competition (Doctoral) Dale Awasis Victoria Bouvier Kori Czuy Terri-Lvnn Fox Trenton Fox Jeffrev Horvath Gabrielle Lindstrom Jennifer Markides Tracey Poitras-Collins James Shawana

Indigenous Graduate Award Competition (Master's) Louise Baptiste April Dryda Amanda Ens Karl Melting Tallow Rachel Treblico

Joe Woodsworth Memorial Scholarship Michaela Rebus

Open Doctoral

Scholarships

Tiffanv Beks Konstantinos Chondros Helia Jafari Theresa Jubenville Franziska Kintzel Jodi Latremouille Gabrielle Lindstrom Taylor Schembri

Queen Elizabeth II

Graduate Scholarship (Doctoral) Sandra Becker Isabel Brun Julie Cohen Rachael Edino Rita Egizii Alissa Galucci Theresa Jubenville Franziska Kintzel Gabrielle Lindstrom Lauren McCoy Brit Paris Victoria Purcell Tanva Surette Rae Ann Van Beers Jenna Young

Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship (Master's) Avelet Arv Artem Assooiants Faith Barrett Alisha Batstone Laura Berlanda Lauren Buote Harrison Campbell Laura Gordon Melanie Guglielman Ashlev Gunter Tasmia Hai Rae Kokotailo Bradlev Lewis Catherine Masou Michelle McCowan Kvla McPhee Victoria Nieborowska Benedict Otoo Victoria Pasyk Jennifer Plosz Michaela Rebus Christina Sander Mackenzie Sapacz Shannon St. Pierre Simon Ulmer-Krol Andrew Vorhies Karly Warren Alvssa West Madelyn Worth

Richard Hirabavashi Graduate Scholarship Jinazhou Liu

Robert M.S Owen Award Toni Vienna

Roderick William Peden Memorial Graduate Scholarship in Education Fouzia Usman

Sharon Aikenhead Waugh Memorial Scholarship Glory Ovie

Social Sciences and Humanities **Research Council** Doctoral Scholarship Sonia Auila-Bhullar Tiffanv Beks Kelsey Gould Amy Green Kirsten Klingle Jodi Latremouille Sarah Nutter Jason Ribiero Mvesha Saida Emily Williams Jonathan Woodend Ashleiah Yule

The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships Carla Konte Alexandra Robinson

Ves Thomas Memorial Scholarship Erica Amery

W.R. Unruh Scholarship Jezzamvn Stone Cameron Pepperdine

Werklund School of Education Doctoral Scholarship Victoria Bouvier Jennifer MacDonald

Werklund School of Education Endowment Graduate Scholarship Jennifer Markides

