Body Image Research Lab - Media

Dr. Russell-Mayhew in the media

*A select sample of media interviews (print, radio and TV) (from 50+) includes:

How weight bias is harming us all (2019) The Conversation https://theconversation.com/how-weight-bias-is-harming-us-all-107352

What happens to weight bias when obesity is labeled a disease? (2018) Weighty Matters: Guest Post  http://www.weightymatters.ca/2018/07/guest-post-what-happens-to-weight-bias.html

Weight bias: Another Lens on Obesity (2017) http://ucalgary.ca/explore/weight-bias-another-lens-obesity?

Mandatory Wellness Course a Good Idea for all Faculties (2017) The Gauntlet  http://www.thegauntlet.ca/mandatory-wellness-course-a-good-idea-for-all-faculties

Rio 2016: Fashion Calgary apologizes for Caster Semenya, Margaret Wambui tweet (print and TV: August 2016) Global News  http://globalnews.ca/news/2891986/rio-2016-fashion-calgary-apologizes-for-questionable-tweet/?sf33874084=1

All Bodies Matter: How body shaming makes America less healthy. (May 2016). Deseret News National Edition  http://www.deseretnews.com/article/print/865655039/All-bodies-matter-How-body-shaming-makes-America-less-healthy.html

Werklund Researcher Gives Public Talk on Weight Bias. (January 2016) https://www.ucalgary.ca/utoday/issue/2016-01-12/werklund-researcher-gives-public-talk-weight-bias

Academics: Body Shaming Health Minister (or anyone else) is Unacceptable (June 2015) Calgary Herald http://calgaryherald.com/opinion/columnists/academics-body-shaming-healt...

CBC Television (2015). Weight Bias Summit. LIVE to tape http://globalnews.ca/news/1882321/calgary-conference-tackles-albertas-weight-bias/

QR 770 Radio (2015). Weight Bias. LIVE to tape https://soundcloud.com/newstalk770/fat-shaming?sc_ref=twitter

Controversial Skinny Jeans for Tots Flying Off Shelves. The Star (2012).
https://www.thestar.com/life/health_wellness/2010/08/19/controversial_skinny_jeans_for_tots_flying_off_shelves.html 

A Healthy Body Image. Today’s Parent Magazine (2009).  http://www.todaysparent.com/family/parenting/a-healthy-body-image/

Graduate Students in the media

Bathroom Scale Smashing Event at Calgary City Hall to Kick Off Eating Disorder Awareness Week - Angela Grace  https://globalnews.ca/news/3219271/bathroom-scale-smashing-event-at-calg...

Marketing to Children - Jewel Loewen https://werklund.ucalgary.ca/media-room/news-events/marketing-children

Helpful or Harmful - Emily Williams  http://werklund.ucalgary.ca/media-room/news-events/helpful-or-harmful

Quick Chat: Academic Research and International Attitudes - Angela Alberta & Sarah Nutter  https://werklund.ucalgary.ca/media-room/news-events/quick-chat-academic-...